The Joy of being a post-grad or how I was so naive

5 Jun

When I was depress and wanted to leave that college, I thought hey you are so gonna get a nice job in your field. All that money to waste or to save for something big. Weekends will be free, you can enjoy every moment without having to study. When I was at my shitty internship aka worst months of my life to this date, I was telling myself that I would graduate soon.

And then in March, I started to check for the job. It was never in my mind that I would be a senior manager earning 50 K in the first year. But It was in my mind that I could earn 37 K  working in the department as a junior. I mean I own a bachelor degree, 27 courses, an intership, I deserve a nice job no ? I didn’t graduate in dance.  I was so naive.

I’m now the expert in looking for jobs. LinkedIn, Monster, Workkopolis and more. Go directly to the company’s site. Sending and Sending resumes and cover letters. In one months, I did apply for 40 positions. I never thought I would be so depress after 5 years of post high school’s  hard work. It should the happiest time ever. 21 years old, college degree, freedom.

What I learned is that nobody want to  hire someone who doesn’t have experience. Its normal, but can I get a damn chance ? I’m so tired of being annoyed by some relatives who tell me to go work at the grocery store. I might have to end up as a secretary and I will never be happy about it and I will never pretend to be happy to go work. I did study to get a job that I like, but its not happening and I’m freaking out. If I don’t have a job by august 4th, I will have to go to the bank and ask for a loan. All the sacrifices that I made are going to the trash and It suck. I won’t have a financial support anymore and my mom is doing everything she can to help me but she can’t do it all.

Every morning when I wake up, I tell myself ; Today, something great will happen, someone will give you a chance. Its the same sentence since May 1st but tomorrow might be the right day.

2 Responses to “The Joy of being a post-grad or how I was so naive”

  1. T’es chanceuse de pas avoir de dettes encore. Il a fallu que j’emprunte pour aller au CÉGEP, payer mon logis, ma bouffe, etc.
    Tu devrais peut-être aller dans un Carrefour Jeunesse Emploi. C’est gratuit, ils vont t’aider en regardant ce que tu met dans ton CV, dans ta lettre, ils vont te dire quoi dire et quoi ne pas dire, ils vont regarder où tu peux appliquer. As-tu pensé retourner travailler où tu travaillais les autres étés ?

  2. oneladyintheworld June 21, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Je vais bientôt me retrouver avec des dettes si je me trouve pas une job. Je peux pas ravoir mon ancienne job, car tu dois être étudiant à temps plein. Mais en ce moment je regarde pour des mini contrats de 2 mois. Tsé même si c’est 10 $ de l’heure, au moisn je vais avoir une expérience pour l’été. En septembre, je regarderai quelque chose de mieux

Leave a Reply

